BREAK YOUR PATTERN February 2021

65.00
  • BREAK YOUR PATTERN  February 2021

A pattern, or texture, is an image formed by the combination of organic or geometric shapes and color, and technically, an element or a drawing that is repeated, according to a symmetry and an order.
Lots of artists (i.e. Kandinskij, Klee), scholars and architects have dealt with patterns or have exploited their qualities within their works, starting from the repetition of the same element without variations, inserting different elements into the pattern, increasing the quantity of the information, without exceeding the threshold beyond which chaos is generated.

We will use non latin letters above all ( Indian, African, Classic Arabic, Kufic…) where we will feel more comfortable to transform them into different and new shapes and composition using all kind of tools and material we need to get more inspirational movements and rhythms. At the same time we will explore the theme of the composition and contrast between the empty and filled space.

The whole course and the method proposed will can obviously also be applied to any style of writing and therefore also to our latin letters.
This course, however, will also investigate the aspects of exit and breakout from the schemes and repetitions as well as the relationship between our ordered world and a more disobedient one.

We will finish with a simple binding and design for a book using the exercise sheets done during the workshop.

LEVEL
This course is suitable for beginners up to advanced.

WHAT YOU GET
- 5 hours in total online live classes (1h30 and 2 hours long)
- 3rd day lesson dedicated for show and share feedback and Q&A
- free support after the class (by email)
- handouts for the entire session will be provided
- recorded video lessons will be available after classes with no time limit to watch them

MODE
It won't be mandatory to work during the live demonstration but of course you can practice with me if you want to. Part of the 3rd day lesson, instead, will be the time for your questions, showing and share your work and getting some feedback from the teacher.
If you won’t be able to be present at the live sessions, don’t worry, after each day's lesson you will get the link to the recorded videos available for you with no time limit to watch them.
Once you have registered 72 hours prior the day’s lesson you will get details and the link for the Zoom lessons access.

DATES AND TIME

FRYDAY 12 FEBRUARY at 9am Rome Time Zone
FRYDAY 19 FEBRUARY at 9am Rome Time Zone
FRYDAY 26 FEBRUARY at 9am Rome Time Zone

THAT MEANS:
7.00 pm in Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart
6.00 pm in Brisbane
6.30 pm in Adelaide
4.00 pm in Perth
9.00 pm in New Zealand
1.30 pm in Mumbai
5.00 pm in Seoul

THIS WORKSHOP WILL BE IN ENGLISH AND HAVE LIMITED NUMBER OF PLACES.